Chunky Chipotle Chicken Soup

It’s not even halfway through December, and I’m ready to make a New Years resolution.  I want to be healthier, and things would improve significantly if I simply start eating better and getting more exercise.

Why now? Because now is when it bothers me, and now is when I want to take a new direction. The holiday season is full of temptations, but I am not interested in charging mindlessly through the next few weeks, only to result in feeling worse. Today, Saturday 12/8/2012, is the day I can take control. Any day of the year can be that day, really.

Clean Eating Magazine has proven to be a powerful weapon in the fight for control. I downloaded the Nov/Dec 2012 issue onto my iPad, and started leafing through it for inspiration.

In the slow-cooker section, I found a recipe for Chunky Chipotle Chicken Soup that looked delicious, and I happened to have all the ingredients. One pot meals are especially appealing on busy days.

So I prepped all the ingredients this morning, and tossed everything into my slow cooker. All healthy foods, including lean chicken and lots of vegetables, with a hefty kick of flavor from smoky chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. It was ready by dinnertime, by which time the savory smell was making me hungry.

I swapped cilantro for parsley, which I prefer, and shredded the chicken before recombining all the ingredients. Here’s how it looked as a finished product, and served with a garnish and lime juice. The flavor is spicy and fresh, and the chunky texture (I especially like the grape tomatoes that pop when you bite into them) and guilt-free nutritional profile make this recipe a winner. I’m happy to have leftovers for later this week!

Crockpot2
Crockpot3

~ by pasadenagina on December 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
