Killer E.S.P.

Coffeeneuring Ride 1

WHERE: Killer ESP [1012 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314, (703) 200-3200]

www.killeresp.com

WHEN: Tuesday, 11 October 2016

WHAT I DRANK: Whole milk latte with almond croissant

WHY GO: Stumptown coffee and Dangerously Delicious pies, yum!

HOW FAR: 9.7 miles (Strava link)

I work from home a lot more often these days, and today was one of those times.  But the autumn sunshine beckoned, so I pushed away from my desk early and solicited Peter to meet me for a coffee ride.

I moved to my south Arlington neighborhood a little over a month ago, and I still have many places to explore.  Mount Vernon Avenue through the Del Ray area is a nearby hotspot, so I rode that way noting all the great restaurants and shops along the route.  A place to get waffles, a raved-about dairy bar, and lots of ethnic food; must investigate more thoroughly, and soon!

Peter (an architect) and I found each other then rode down King Street, when he remembered a standing meeting at one of his clients’ houses only a couple blocks away.  I joined him, and got to walk through a beautifully renovated row house in the historic part of Old Town.

From there, we found our way to Killer ESP and perused the menu.  I ordered a whole milk latte made from Stumptown roast, plus an almond croissant.  He doesn’t drink coffee but was tempted by the gelato and got a cone with two flavors, salted caramel and hazelnut chocolate.  We camped ourselves at a tiny table in the back to enjoy our treats.

Having discovered so many new-to-me coffee shops around my neighborhood, my theme within a theme for this year’s Coffeeneuring challenge is to only visit places I’ve never been before.  One down, six more to go, and the wide array of choices is pretty exciting!

IMG_2992.JPG

Trying the “E” (espresso) and “S” (sorbet or gelato) at Killer ESP.

~ by pasadenagina on October 12, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
